Trash to Treasure

On the back side of the property, hiding behind the pond, we found this big eye sore of a pile when we moved in.  It had hunks of concrete with poles sticking out and a huge mound of one to two foot pieces of railroad ties.  All fall I had it in my mind to burn it and get rid of the mess. Then one day when I was starting to plan my garden beds it occurred to me that those really expensive railroad ties I was pricing at Lowes were already in my backyard!  They were two foot sections instead of six or eight but they still worked the same way.  When the weather warmed up in February I got out there and started sorting and hauling pieces out of that pile.   I was super thankful that my husband picked up a little trailer to go behind our riding lawn mower at a yardsale last summer!  That made my life so much easier.   It didn’t take long to turn that pile into a decent sized raised bed.  I threw in some partially composted straw from the rabbit hutch and topped it off with miracle grow potting soil.  Since it’s going to be my greens bed I had to come up with something to keep the rabbits and critters out.  After looking around some more I drug the old very ugly door off chicken coop over and laid it on top of the bed.  I planted my seeds in 70 degree sunshine, then went in and read that the weekend forecast was calling for a hard freeze and snow!  I’m crossing my fingers they survive the cold. 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

